• 2nd opinion

    Asked by DonnaC on Sunday, August 26, 2012

    2nd opinion

    Finished radiation last monday. The doctor advised hospice. At least 5 doctors have looked at my records and all concur that chemo would not help and ,in fact, would just make me miserable. All the doctors are from the same hospital group. I have thought of getting an opinion out of the group but logic seems to tell me that I would be chasing rainbows. All the family are aware of my condition. The adenocarcinoma started in lung, and spread to brain, spine, kisney, and lymph nodes. Any thoughts? Donna

    17 Answers from the Community

    17 answers
    • FreeBird's Avatar
      FreeBird

      Good grief. You have a lot going on. Best wishes to you, regardless of what you decide. If it gives you peace of mind that you have tried everything, absolutely without hesitation ask for a second opinion outside of the group. It's your life, and you're in charge. Most likely, unless there was some major mistake in the reports along the way, they will say the same thing in my opinion. Otherwise, they have quite a collection of jerks for doctors there.

      http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/coping/advancedcancer.pdf
      http://www.cancer.org/Cancer/AdvancedCancer/index
      http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/pdq/treatment/small-cell-lung/Patient/page1/AllPages
      http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/wyntk/lung/wyntk_lung.pdf
      http://www.cancer.org/Treatment/NearingtheEndofLife/NearingtheEndofLife/nearing-the-end-of-life-hospice

      I am a caregiver for my dad who is also diagnosed with an advanced cancer and six-month prognosis. It's a balance scale, with the desire to live on one side, and the desire for quality of life in whatever time is left on the other side. Do we want 4 relatively good months, or 8 horrible months, and how do we know we made the right decision. It is a tough place to be, and we feel what you're going through. Good luck to you, and we're still hoping for a miracle for everyone.

      about 5 years ago
    • Moonflay's Avatar
      Moonflay

      You have nothing to lose by seeking an opinion outside the group, besides...I find rainbows quite beautiful and worth chasing on occasion.

      My heart goes out to you and your loved ones!

      /Hugs

      about 5 years ago
    • joyce's Avatar
      joyce

      Clearly, you have doubts about whether chemo will hurt more than help. My husband has pancreatic cancer and was told by his first surgical team that it was inoperable and they could only provide palliative care. He found another surgeon who removed the entire tumor. After surgery, radiation and chemo, he is free of ny visible cancer. I say a second option certainly can't hurt, and in my husband's case, it saved his life.

      about 5 years ago
    • carm's Avatar
      carm

      Donna, I am an oncology/end of life nurse and I think you should do what YOU want to do. If you want to continue the fight, then seek treatment elsewhere. If you wish to turn to comfort care, then there are many great organizations who can assist you. The choice should always be yours. As long as you have a will to live, you will find there are other options. If you have the will to leave, then you will know where to turn. Best of luck, Carm.

      about 5 years ago
    • Mollie's Avatar
      Mollie

      Hi Donna. If you are thinking that a second opinion would make you feel more secure that your diagnosis and treatment, or lack thereof, is correct than do it. You need to feel the most confident you can about this. My grandma just went full hospice. So let me know if you have any questions. Mollie

      about 5 years ago
    • Carol-Charlie's Avatar
      Carol-Charlie

      I feel that prayer and letting God lead you to where He wants you to be. God brings the most beautiful peace. Ask Him to take your hand and lead you ...

      about 5 years ago
    • Carol-Charlie's Avatar
      Carol-Charlie

      I feel that prayer and letting God lead you to where He wants you to be. God brings the most beautiful peace. Ask Him to take your hand and lead you ...

      about 5 years ago
    • ev814's Avatar
      ev814

      DonnaC--DEMAND that your insurance company approve and immediate "Out-of-Network" provider for a Second Opinion. THIS IS YOUR LIFE, YOUR RIGHT and THE INSURANCE COMPANY only wants to save money -- find another doctor with a different approach, a more experienced on who is possibly an authorized provider in another area of the overall network approved providers of your insurance company. SEND HIM A WRITTEN LETTER of INTRODUCTION and get in by hook or by crook to see him or her. NO ONE HAS THE RIGHT but YOU to say WHEN YOUR LIFE WILL END, so RUN TO THE NEXT PHYSICIAN and be certain that he or she examines you, takes blood work, sees all of the reports including all treatment plans, and then ask him or her specific questions about his or her ideas as to treatment.

      about 5 years ago
    • ev814's Avatar
      ev814

      Then, dedicate the rest of your life to KNOWING the POWER OF LOVE and POWER OF GRACE when you accept and take control of the LIFE GOD and HER/HIS WHOLE SPIRIT of all that is great and powerful in this universe, letting go and letting GOD guide you through YOUR JOURNEY or TRANSITION.

      about 5 years ago
    • Sunny's Avatar
      Sunny

      Let me know if you are interested in Ayurvedic treatment

      about 5 years ago
    • SandiD's Avatar
      SandiD

      I am sorry you have to go through this. Get that second opinion! You have nothing to lose. This is your life and you should do whatever eases your mind to truly make an informed decision. This is your choice and your right! Look into ALL your options. God bless you on this journey.

      about 5 years ago
    • cellmem's Avatar
      cellmem

      I did one infusion and had some side effects and stopped the chemo.I went to J Hopkins for a 2nd opinion and really did not find out any difference in their opinion as that being given by my oncologists here in El Paso,tx. Oncologists now are well connected enough to have information that other oncologists have regardless of location.
      I have stage 3 advanced prostate cancer and will no longer seek out any agressive treatments.Life is too precious to spend one's last days suffering and in needless pain. You here this all the time,but as you travel down that path towards the end of life,for me this is the way.As human beings we are all afraid of dying. Where were you before you were born? No suffering,no pain.

      about 5 years ago
    • GENMAR47's Avatar
      GENMAR47

      If a second opinion will ease your mind, go for it. Find you a doctor you trust and get an opinion. The doctor will either confirm the dianosis or find something they missed. Either way you will have your mind eased. I was diagnosed with stage 2 prostate cancer 30 days ago. I got a second opinion and it confirmed my diagnosis and let me be able to plan my treatment. It helped my mental state tremendously. Forget logic. What a boring life we would live if we lived every day logically so if you want to chase a rainbow, chase it. It's your rainbow. I chased my rainbow and I am glad I did. God bless you in your journey.

      about 5 years ago
    • weezyschannel's Avatar
      weezyschannel

      From past experience I would suggest that you just keep going until you feel you got your answer.
      I went through 3 opinions before I was even diagnosed. First 1 said nothing was wrong with me and I knew better.
      Went to another doctor that said I had cancer. I was confused at this point. Went for a third opinion that said I did not have cancer and I had endometriosis. Turned out I had stage to be cervical cancer.
      Go with your gut honey. Don't stop until you feel comfortable that's all I can say

      about 5 years ago
    • weezyschannel's Avatar
      weezyschannel

      Feel free to read my journey on my profile..it was quite a mess .

      about 5 years ago
    • kkgreg's Avatar
      kkgreg

      Unfortunately... you have ALREADY had 4 - 2nd opinion's.
      I went on hospice 2 week's after the end of the 1st round on Chemo.
      Hospice AND Palliative care are wonderful. You actually feel much better after the Chemo starts leaving the body and the VNA (Visiting Nurses Association - hospice delivery company) will take care of all your medication need's and HELP you remain pain free! Good luck to you...
      Greg

      almost 4 years ago
    • Pj243's Avatar
      Pj243

      DonnaC get a second opinion ! As long as you are willing to fight then fight! At least then you won't have regrets about it? Doesn't the cancer treatment centers of America review your records before you even go there? I personally have not been there but have family that wants me to.

      over 3 years ago

    Help the community by answering this question:

    Create an account to post your answer Already have an account? Sign in!

    By using WhatNext, you agree to our User Agreement, and Privacy Policy


    Read and answer more small cell, lung cancer questions.  Also, don't forget to check out our Small Cell, Lung Cancer page.