• 2nd Opinion for Inflammatory Breast Cancer Diagnosis?

    Asked by jah7010 on Thursday, March 14, 2019

    2nd Opinion for Inflammatory Breast Cancer Diagnosis?

    Is it important to get an IBC diagnosis? I have the symptoms but not the diagnosis. I feel that I should have the diagnosis to get the most aggressive treatment. Although I'm not sure what they would recommend that they're not already doing, which is chemo (Perjeta, Herceptin/Taxol). Should I get a 2nd opinion???

    7 Answers from the Community

    7 answers
    • carm's Avatar
      carm

      Hello, I'm an oncology nurse. It looks like you are HER2+ and whether it's lobular, inflammatory or invasive the first line treatments are the same. That being said, it is always better to get a second opinion regardless and many here will tell you this. Best of luck to you.

      2 months ago
    • jah7010's Avatar
      jah7010

      Hi Carm, thank you very much. It's the next step that I'm wondering about. I've read that surgery is the next step with IBC but my oncologist wasn't sure if surgery would be recommended or not.

      2 months ago
    • carm's Avatar
      carm

      Well right now it seems that they are suggesting neo-adjuvant therapy to try and shrink the tumor so that it becomes small enough to radiate, or manageable enough to remove with a simple mastectomy or lumpectomy. Also, the chemo can help to prevent spread into the nodes. However, I do not know your stage or grade. I can tell it is HER2+ by the suggestion of the targeted therapies in your plan of care. Generally if you are getting chemo before surgery it is with the hope that it can be managed medically without surgical intervention. Whenever possible, surgery should always be a last option. I hope this helps clarify.

      2 months ago
    • ChicagoSandy's Avatar
      ChicagoSandy

      You're getting with standard-of-care (most up-to-date) treatment whether invasive or IBC. And I echo that what you're getting is designed to do two things: one, to shrink the tumor to make surgery more effective; and two, to see how it responds to the chemo & targeted therapy you're getting in case they need to adjust the dosage, frequency or type of chemo.

      2 months ago
    • jah7010's Avatar
      jah7010

      Thank you Carm and ChicagoSandy. Yes, I'm ER+, PR+ and HER2+. Unfortunately I'm stage 4 de novo and grade 3. My treatment is 2 weeks on (week 1-P/H/T, week 2-T), and 1 week off. I can tell that the chemo is working, but it comes back the 1 week off (breast shrinks, looks normal, then gets larger). I love that I haven't had surgery, but just want to do what's best for treating this. Thank you all so much!

      2 months ago
    • carm's Avatar
      carm

      If you want to know what your options are, google the NCCN guidelines. It is free to join and you can follow the algorhythm for breast cancer. These guidelines are what oncologists must refer to when prescribing. Best of luck to you.

      2 months ago
    • jah7010's Avatar
      jah7010

      Thank you very much, Carm. Very valuable information. I can't thank you enough.

      2 months ago

    Help the community by answering this question:

    Create an account to post your answer Already have an account? Sign in!

    By using WhatNext, you agree to our User Agreement, and Privacy Policy


    Read and answer more inflammatory breast cancer questions.  Also, don't forget to check out our Inflammatory Breast Cancer page.