• 2nd opinion for treatment do i need it?

    Asked by Lily on Saturday, March 18, 2017

    2nd opinion for treatment do i need it?

    21 Answers from the Community

    21 answers
    • Floridagirl6's Avatar
      Floridagirl6

      I would recommend a second opinion.

      almost 4 years ago
    • Carool's Avatar
      Carool

      It depends. If you feel very confident in your first doctors and what they're recommending, why get a second opinion? If what they're recommending seems iffy or they have no protocols to offer, of course seek help elsewhere. I'd go, if possible, to a top cancer hospital. My cousin had IBC; went to MD Anderson - I see you're in Texas - of course, Texas is big, but I assume MD Anderson has satellites all over - and five years later, she's okay so far. I wish you the best of luck -

      almost 4 years ago
    • geekling's Avatar
      geekling

      With something as serious as cancer, I would and did get a second and independent opinion.

      I actually counseled with 8 oncologists before I agreed to submit to any treatment. One of the people with whom I spoke was with MD Anderson.

      In my case, he helped me to be patient and seek newer methodologies.

      Best wishes.

      almost 4 years ago
    • Lynne-I-Am's Avatar
      Lynne-I-Am

      A second opinion can be very informative about different courses of treatment , new possibilities, or reinforce what your current doctor recommends. I do not see a downside. Ultimately the choice for your medical care is yours.

      almost 4 years ago
    • Carool's Avatar
      Carool

      After reading these other responses, I revise my response. There is no downside. Actually, I did get a second opinion for my breast cancer, but it was because I didn't like the diagnosing breast surgeon or the hospital she was with. I'm very glad I switched. Had I first gone to the doctor and hospital (MSKCC) I ended up with, I would not have sought a second opinion.

      almost 4 years ago
    • Coconut's Avatar
      Coconut

      I surely recommend it

      almost 4 years ago
    • Lily's Avatar
      Lily

      All of you are awesome to encourage me. N
      I will take uour advice. Looking at Mayo clinic...

      almost 4 years ago
    • BoiseB's Avatar
      BoiseB

      My friend got a second opinion and the two Dr. actually worked together and worked out a protocol that just fit her case and both Dr.s learned. Things have been happening so fast in cancer research that Dr.s can't keep up with them. Also you need to do a little research NOT googling. If you can go to a University library you and make use of their resources. The staff at most University libraries are happy to help members of the community access their data bases which include journals.

      almost 4 years ago
    • Jouska's Avatar
      Jouska

      I did not get a second opinion. However, I did have 3 doctors that I was working with, my general surgeon, my oncologist and my plastic surgeon. They were all very thorough and my general and my oncologist, especially, took time to discuss my opinions for treatment. No question was too large or too small for them. I am HER2+ and that narrows the options somewhat. However, anything that helps you make your best decisions is worth it, so if you are more comfortable with a second opinion, go for it.

      almost 4 years ago
    • Judytjab's Avatar
      Judytjab

      I agree with the others. I would get a second opinion. I did and went with my second opinion doctor and hospital. So glad that I did. Wishing you the best.

      almost 4 years ago
    • barryboomer's Avatar
      barryboomer

      No guarantee that the second Doc is any better than the first.
      I hate cancer as there are so many variables that the patients head starts to swim.
      I believe it is essential to research everything you can to help yourself...
      It's just a mess......

      almost 4 years ago
    • LiveWithCancer's Avatar
      LiveWithCancer

      It never hurts to get a second opinion. I would strongly consider it.

      almost 4 years ago
    • joyuss59's Avatar
      joyuss59

      you should always get a second opinion

      almost 4 years ago
    • joyuss59's Avatar
      joyuss59

      If for nothing else for your peace of mind

      almost 4 years ago
    • sarasmash's Avatar
      sarasmash

      I just got my second opinion and I am glad I did. It reassured me that I am on the right track. It's nice to have an extra set of eyes looking at your process.

      almost 4 years ago
    • Lily's Avatar
      Lily

      Thank u all so much for caring!!!

      almost 4 years ago
    • MyahsMom's Avatar
      MyahsMom

      A second opinion is always a good thing. Two heads are better than one especially when it comes to cancer. It can tell you when you when you're on the right track. God Bless You!

      almost 4 years ago
    • BuckeyeShelby's Avatar
      BuckeyeShelby

      My hospital is not the big local cancer hospital. My cancer was discovered during a hernia repair. I sat in the surgeon's office for the initial consult just freaking out. I should be at the other hospital, the one that specializes in cancer treatment. Calmed myself down by reminding myself I could get a 2nd opinion. Then I met the surgeon. Who reached across his desk, shook my hand and said, "it's nice to meet you; I'm sorry you're here". What second opinion? I found my guy. Wasn't until after surgery that I discovered he's head of oncology at my hospital. I think it's more in your comfort w/the surgeon and staff -- that's the important thing. If you find your guy or gal in the first shot, great! If not, keep searching.

      almost 4 years ago
    • BoiseB's Avatar
      BoiseB

      I have had Dr.s ask for a second opinion, This was not in the cancer related but for my back injuries.

      almost 4 years ago
    • BarbarainBham's Avatar
      BarbarainBham

      It never hurts to have a second opinion. M.D. Anderson is the #1 cancer hospital, so seems meant to be.

      almost 4 years ago
    • mimistewart's Avatar
      mimistewart

      i did not get a second opinion. i instantly liked my doctor and felt confident with him and his group. sometimes the office people are a little trying but i think they are working very hard and get overwhelmed but so far so good......i like all to be in a sequence(very anal) haha and that is frustrating for me.....i guess its how you feel in your heart.good luck

      almost 4 years ago

    Help the community by answering this question:

    Create an account to post your answer Already have an account? Sign in!

    By using WhatNext, you agree to our User Agreement, and Privacy Policy


    Read and answer more mixed tumors, breast cancer questions.  Also, don't forget to check out our Mixed Tumors, Breast Cancer page.