• Did you get a second opinion after being diagnosed with cancer, and if so, why?

    Asked by ticklingcancer on Tuesday, December 18, 2012

    Did you get a second opinion after being diagnosed with cancer, and if so, why?

    10 Answers from the Community

    10 answers
    • Nancebeth's Avatar

      I got 3 opinions from breast surgeons, 2 opinions from plastic surgeons and 2 opinions from oncologists. I had a few reasons: I was faced with a life threatening disease, which should make anyone seek out at least 2 opinions. I was faced with the possibility of losing my breasts. As a woman, this is not a decision to take lightly, and you absolutely need to feel comfortable with both the surgeon removing them and the surgeon making the new ones. Since there is so much research and data out there on chemo and radiation benefits, side effetcs, etc, I wanted to get as much information as possible. In addition, this is a lifelong journey and feeling confident and comfortable with your doctors is so very important.

      almost 4 years ago
    • BuckeyeShelby's Avatar

      Before going in for my endometrial biopsy, I considered it. After all, the James @ OSU is the biggest name in cancer research in central Ohio. Not the hospital down the road, where I had been diagnosed. So, in the waiting room, I decided I'd get a 2nd opinion. Then I met the surgeon. Whose first words to me were, "It's nice to meet you; I'm sorry you have to be here." Nope, don't need a 2nd opinion. I'm comfortable w/this doc. Afterwards, I found out he's the head of oncology at that hospital down the road. AND he's in charge of ALL of the interns, not just the oncology interns. I have great faith in him.

      almost 4 years ago
    • nancyjac's Avatar

      Yes, several, but none were to second guess the diagnosis or because I didn't have full confidence in my oncologist. Advanced cancer usually requires a team of specialist, not just a medical oncologist. So, I also had a general surgeon, a plastic surgeon, a radiology oncologist, a physical therapist, and even an orthopedist. They all work in consort during my treatment.

      almost 4 years ago
    • abrub's Avatar

      Yes. Mine is a very rare cancer; I needed to find oncologists who knew it. I went for several opinions, and chose the doctor whose approach made the most sense. With a rare cancer, it is especially important to go to a major cancer center, to find someone who has experience with your cancer. Most of the drs I saw wanted to treat my appendix cancer like Stage IV Colon Cancer. However, the appendix cancer expert I met with explained why the treatment for appendix cancer differs from that for colon cancer. I'm here now because of him.

      almost 4 years ago
    • Peroll's Avatar

      I got a second opinion, with the full support and agreement of my Oncologist a few months ago, primarily because my case is well past the point where there are any researched guidelines on how tio treat me. I wanted to be aware of the latest trials and get other imputs. I went to the big downtown treatment center associated with the Fred Hutchison Cancer Research Center. The Oncologist I saw there knows my regular Oncologist and they still concult on my case discussing options.

      The Hospital my Oncloogist is out of has a Tumor board that brings together all of the cancer specialties to review cases and my case has been discussed there numerous times.

      I always figure the deeper the team the better off I am!!

      almost 4 years ago
    • Harry's Avatar

      I didn't. A lot had to do with the fact that, though WM is rare, it isn't aggressive. The initial treatment worked, although with more drama than I could have wished. I certainly agree that when diagnosis is such that you need to go to the cutting edge research institutions or when the initial experiences are not good that a second opinion is the only way to go.

      Besides, my oncologist is exactly the right type for me. :-)

      almost 4 years ago
    • packerbacker's Avatar

      I liked my doctor as soon as I met him, and I trust him. He tells me things as they are, and helps me to explore my options, leaving the final decision up to me. He has told me that if I'm not comfortable, to get a second opinion, but I am more than satisfied with my doctor. He heads the Hematology/Oncology department at our hospital. But, many people do get second opinions to help with their decisions, and that's cool, too.

      almost 4 years ago
    • karen1956's Avatar

      I didn't get a second opinion per se regarding Dx....I was told that I had breast cancer after the biopsy.....I then saw 2 surgeons (so yes, I guess that is a 2nd opinion) regarding surgical options and then a medical oncologist (and also plastic surgeon)...I guess the oncologist was the 2nd opinion confirming the Dx....but the 2 surgeons also looked at the pathology reports....And all confirmed the Dx...then following surgery the pathology changed.....for the worse!!!! When I was first told that I had BC I was told that breast conserving surgery was not an option and I would probably be facing chemo....the two surgeons also confirmed this as did the oncologist and added radiation to the mix!!! My medical oncologist is one of the top in the city and only treats breast cancer....he spent 2 hours with me and my husband on our first visit...I felt very comfortable with him and saw no need to look elsewhere...plus I knew a few people who had used him.....

      almost 4 years ago
    • CAL's Avatar

      Initially during the diagnostic process, I did not get a second opinion. In stead I read everything under the sun including medical research articles, alternative medicine treatments, & complimentary treatments. After my partial mastectomy, I found out I had a positive lymph node so then chemo was recommended. I changed oncologists only because I couldn't get in to see the first one in a timely manner b/c he was head of the cancer research dept. and gone to other clinics two days a week. As I then researched chemo, I started reading about Integrative Oncology and that's when I decided to go for a second opinion particularly for the extensive nutritional assessment and complimentary therapy component. Even though I had already started chemo, I switched to a center 4 hours from my home in order to get this comprehensive treatment. I am still in the midst of chemo and am now researching newer options for radiation that involve 5 days rather than 6.5 weeks. All this involved a major time commitment to find the research and evaluate the source. I am fortunate as a registered nurse to have a background in allopathic medicine and in looking at medical research plus I have relatives and friends who are just as diligent in helping me search out alternative.
      As far as I am concerned, the more I know, the more questions I ask, the more I feel secure with whatever options I choose. Not everyone is like that so you have to do what works for you. I just never want to do this chemo thing again even if it means lifelong lifestyle/dietary changes.

      almost 4 years ago
    • SueRae1's Avatar

      Yes! after each diagnosis (that's 4 times) - I just wanted to make sure that the treatment plan was correct and get a 2nd pair of eyes on my case. All 4 times the 2nd opinion Dr said "this is how I would treat it" The last opinion I got, which was in July for my metastasized breast cancer, in addition to approving my treatment gave some suggestions about additional treatment plans should my current one stop working. She also recommend seeing a geneticists to test for munitions beyond BRACA (I tested negative including all subsets), as well as having my cancers sequenced to determine their specific mutations- we should be getting the results of these days any day now - so worth it just for the genetic testing suggestion.

      almost 4 years ago

    Help the community by answering this question:

    Create an account to post your answer Already have an account? Sign in!

    By using WhatNext, you agree to our User Agreement, and Privacy Policy

    Read and answer more testicular cancer questions.  Also, don't forget to check out our Testicular Cancer page.