• Ever get frustrated when Facebook friend's post complaints about their hair, a headache, etc.?

    Asked by Vjp2012 on Friday, April 26, 2013

    Ever get frustrated when Facebook friend's post complaints about their hair, a headache, etc.?

    13 Answers from the Community

    13 answers
    • GregP_WN's Avatar
      GregP_WN

      yes, I know how you feel. I have stirred this conversation a time or two myself. There are some quote posts circulating that are kind of tongue in cheek taking a shot at those who are showing all the drama over the burned dinner, or a runny nose because of allergies. I kind of laugh at a lot of those.

      I'm with you!

      over 4 years ago
    • ddkk3's Avatar
      ddkk3

      Yeah, sometimes I feel like "At least you have your hair" or something like that. But then I try to remember that everyone has their own problems that we may not know about.

      over 4 years ago
    • natte's Avatar
      natte

      I feel sorry for people complaining about trivial things.My illness has given me a
      Perspective to life that is invaluable! I am a different person.and far more thankful.
      For this, I am grateful!

      over 4 years ago
    • KimmieJo's Avatar
      KimmieJo

      It does get frustrating doesn't it? I always think that at least their issues will probably go away in a day or so - but i am stuck! I have really been trying to get more objective about the whole thing and do as ddkk3 says and try to realize that there may be issues under the surface .

      over 4 years ago
    • BuckeyeShelby's Avatar
      BuckeyeShelby

      I don't do Facebook, but listening to my much younger coworkers make these complaints can be trying. They mostly all know of my illness. But one day, while I was standing there in my hat, one of them made the "bad hair day" comments. I just gave her "the look". Talk about embarrassed -- even though I didn't say a word.

      over 4 years ago
    • WendyLew's Avatar
      WendyLew

      Ha! I pray for them mostly... but I really had it when my husband complained constantly for a week about a toothache... it was after an especially rough round of chemo - pain which was sometimes so bad (even after meds) that I literally shook - trembled. I finally confronted him as he complained... and said.. "tooth!? tooth!? I wish the only pain I had was a tooth! as I started from head to toe telling him what ached and hurt and stabbed and burned and tingled and pricked all over my body... he just stared in disbelief and shock and was speechless!

      over 4 years ago
    • WendyLew's Avatar
      WendyLew

      Ha! I pray for them mostly... but I really had it when my husband complained constantly for a week about a toothache... it was after an especially rough round of chemo - pain which was sometimes so bad (even after meds) that I literally shook - trembled. I finally confronted him as he complained... and said.. "tooth!? tooth!? I wish the only pain I had was a tooth! as I started from head to toe telling him what ached and hurt and stabbed and burned and tingled and pricked all over my body... he just stared in disbelief and shock and was speechless!
      Overall... I don't complain and always have a positive attitude which apparently has convinced many of my family and friends that I have no problems or pains and don't go thru things... sometimes I have to let them know that I do have pains and hurt but I rise above it and don't let myself be ruled by sickness - I act well, talk well and AM well!

      over 4 years ago
    • GypsyJule's Avatar
      GypsyJule

      Sometimes those comments just make me laugh. One friend said something like, "I've been dealing with a paper cut all day - they are the worst things ever!" I had to comment that there were actually worse things. :) Wouldn't it be nice if a paper cut was the worst thing any of us encountered? I imagine that I complained about trivial things in the past, too. I'm thankful that, if nothing else, cancer has taught me not to sweat the small stuff.

      over 4 years ago
    • c25862's Avatar
      c25862

      Yes it is frustrating. One of my coworkers asked me how I was doing and I told her I have my days. Another coworker over heard and said I know how u feel. And I thought to myself no u freakin don't. You have never had to go thru what I'm going thru. It just upsets me when people act like they know what I'm going thru or how I feel

      over 4 years ago
    • Carol-Charlie's Avatar
      Carol-Charlie

      Noooooo well once in a while... My hair didn't grow back enough to wear... BUT I love PaulaYoung.com wigs and have many. I can have ready to go hair at all times now.... Never need to touch up my roots. I've found when I want to complain... I have to quickly remind myself... BIG DEAL.... CAROL... YOU'RE HERE... YOU'RE CANCER FREE AND YOU'VE MET YOUR TWO GREAT GRAND CHILDREN... WHAT MORE DO YOU NEED WOMAN. Then I quietly say... some hair on when I get out of the pool.....

      over 4 years ago
    • Carol-Charlie's Avatar
      Carol-Charlie

      Once in a while I have been known to be weird. (all my friends are choking with laughter) Everyone knew I had cancer and that my hair had not grown back after two straight years of chemo... yeah really. Anyway, I got out of the car at a friends house and there were many in the front yard. My friend's mother was introduced and made the comment... "I love your hair"... Everyone started to laugh.. so I took my hair off and handed it to her. That was five years ago..... and no one lets me forget it... I say bring on a laugh when and where you can...

      over 4 years ago
    • derbygirl's Avatar
      derbygirl

      I don't really think about it because, except for a few, my Facebook friends are friends from high school and college. Many of them are dealing with health issues of their own so I support them as much as they've supported me. One has MS, another with rheumatoid arthritis, one friend has fibromyalgia, and there are several with cancer of varying degrees. At first when they started complaining about feeling ill, I took an interest and asked them if there was anything I could do to help and they began telling me what was wrong. With knowing what they're dealing with, I can understand their complaints and can be a shoulder for them to lean on.

      over 4 years ago
    • raysmom's Avatar
      raysmom (Best Answer!)

      Now I do... It didn't used to bother me, but now I get more than a little annoyed at the triviality of some of their complaints when my son is fighting for his life and doesn't even complain about THAT on his fb page. Puts things in perspective for me.

      over 4 years ago

    Help the community by answering this question:

    Create an account to post your answer Already have an account? Sign in!

    By using WhatNext, you agree to our User Agreement, and Privacy Policy


    Read and answer more fallopian tube cancer questions.  Also, don't forget to check out our Fallopian Tube Cancer page.