• How do you find another dr to get another opinion. How do I make the best choice.

    Asked by lindi143 on Thursday, June 24, 2021

    How do you find another dr to get another opinion. How do I make the best choice.

    8 Answers from the Community

    8 answers
    • Carool's Avatar
      Carool (Best Answer!)

      Is there a major cancer hospital near you — or, if your partner/husband is already seeing an oncologist at a major cancer hospital, is there another such hospital near you? From what I know, no doctor will object to someone seeking another opinion. You could also call MD Anderson or MSKCC and speak with someone theee about getting a second opinion remotely. You can also ask your husband’s PCP for a recommendation.

      I wish I had info from experience. I did get a second opinion right after my breast cancer diagnosis, but that was through a friend who knew someone at MSK (where I ended up getting surgery and treatments). I wish you both everything good. Please keep us posted if you feel like it.

      about 1 month ago
    • Bug's Avatar
      Bug

      Who recommended the first doctor? Maybe they could recommend another doctor...? The doctor who did my biopsy recommended a surgeon. He said I would love her and he was right. Maybe you could ask a doctor that you like for a recommendation.

      about 1 month ago
    • fusilier's Avatar
      fusilier

      Carool has some excellent advice. In addition, you might try the American Cancer Society: [phone number redacted] , your local public health service, or Mayo Clinic.

      Remember, we are all in this together.

      fusilier

      James 2:24

      about 1 month ago
    • Teachertina's Avatar
      Teachertina

      I checked with a research hospital not too far away in NC , we have more than one, and they did a panel review of my case. They concluded that they agreed with the plan my oncologist had suggested and told me he was one of the best around. They were so right, 15 years later he still keeps me going!

      about 1 month ago
    • Kp2018's Avatar
      Kp2018

      To add to the excellent suggestions already offered, here is a link to the NCI designated cancer center in your state: https://www.uab.edu/onealcancercenter/

      This is where you will find a team of experts who deliver cutting edge treatments. They are quite accustomed to offering second opinions.

      about 1 month ago
    • lindi143's Avatar
      lindi143

      Thank you all so much. Y’all are awesome

      about 1 month ago
    • 2943's Avatar
      2943

      I looked at hospitals national rankings. I looked within a 2 hour drive. Happened #6 in nation was drivable and had primary send request. Saved my Life. I had extremely efficient yet personal treatment. Entered clinical trials. I had worried I would just be a number but not the case at all. Breast surgeon visited in hospital after I had kidney removed. During searching times, you may need to hear from that second voice.

      about 1 month ago
    • legaljen1969's Avatar
      legaljen1969

      Lindi, I hope you find someone to offer a second opinion. Remember, this is your husband's health. Doctors know that people get "second opinions" all the time. Those who have done the "second opinion" thing have some great suggestions.

      about 1 month ago

    Help the community by answering this question:

    Create an account to post your answer Already have an account? Sign in!

    By using WhatNext, you agree to our User Agreement, and Privacy Policy


    Read and answer more prostate cancer questions.  Also, don't forget to check out our Prostate Cancer page.