• I'm wondering if any or many of you have sought a second opinion when told you have inoperable stage IV cancer, especially lung cancer. I'm not in denial about it. Guess I just want reassurance that I'm on the right track with my treatment and if there

    Asked by mykidshavepaws on Tuesday, March 13, 2012

    I'm wondering if any or many of you have sought a second opinion when told you have inoperable stage IV cancer, especially lung cancer. I'm not in denial about it. Guess I just want reassurance that I'm on the right track with my treatment and if there

    Add optional details about your question here

    7 Answers from the Community

    7 answers
    • PhillieG's Avatar
      PhillieG

      Hi MKHPaws,
      While I have Stage IV Colon Cancer (since Feb 2004) I found it invaluable to get a second opinion. My "Dr" who found the cancer wanted to take a totally different approach to dealing with my cancer. It was more of a "Shoot First, Ask Questions Later" approach and "buying some time" was the plan. Thankfully I got a second opinion and I did chemo first, had a successful colon and liver resection but still have some lung mets. While I never did, and never will, ask how much time do I have (since they really rarely know) overall I am doing well and am living with cancer. So my advice is to get another opinion. Doctors, like weathermen, are sometimes wrong. Someone has to be in that group that beats the odds, why not you?
      -phil

      almost 5 years ago
    • CarolLHRN's Avatar
      CarolLHRN

      I agree with Phil. There is no reason not to get a second opinion. Even if it's the same recommended treatment, you may find that you like one doctor better than another. Have an oncologist you like and trust leading the treatment plan can make all the difference. Good luck and let us know how it's going.

      almost 5 years ago
    • GregP_WN's Avatar
      GregP_WN

      My mother was told just that, inoperable lung tumor, involving too many vessels to operate and she was 81. I took her scan that was on a thumb drive and sent it to a Dr. friend, he concurred.

      almost 5 years ago
    • joyce's Avatar
      joyce

      My husband hss pancreatic cancer. The first surgeon we consulted with said it was inoperable and offered palliative care only. We consulted with three other surgeons and they all said it was operable. After researching the surgeons on line and consulting with John Hopkins hospital, we selected one and he had successful surgery. I think you should always get at least a second opinion when you are faced with a serious illness. I will pray that you find a great doctor who will help you achieve the best possible outcome.

      almost 5 years ago
    • TomLand's Avatar
      TomLand

      I have stage 4 pancreatic cancer. At my initial visit my oncologist stated he thought second opinions were vital. He helped locate the leading pancreatic cancer specialist in Florida and set up the visit. We discussed the results following the visit, learning there was some disagreement as to the next step once the Gemzar treatment stops being effective. It was an excellent and smooth process.

      Second opinions are critical from my perspective - do it.

      almost 5 years ago
    • RuthAnne's Avatar
      RuthAnne

      Sort of...I saw so many doctors that I 'accidentally' got four opinions. They all agreed that my tumor was too close to my aorta to operate - they wouldn't even use that site for a needle biopsy because of it's location. It was reassuring when everyone was saying the same thing. Like everyone else here, I recommend hearing what other doctors have to say about your situation. If nothing else, it will give you peace of mind. Best of luck!

      almost 5 years ago
    • saltermd's Avatar
      saltermd

      Never feel bad about getting a second ( or even third ) opinion. Most of would get at least 2 estimates for any work around our homes - your health is vitally more important than landscaping or a new roof ! No sensible doctor would ever be offended when a patient requests a second opinion. I definitely advise you seek a second opinion if you feel the need. Best of luck !

      almost 5 years ago

    Help the community by answering this question:

    Create an account to post your answer Already have an account? Sign in!

    By using WhatNext, you agree to our User Agreement, and Privacy Policy


    Read and answer more lung cancer questions.  Also, don't forget to check out our Lung Cancer page.