• I'm wondering-should I get a second opinion at this point in the game. I have IDC with a 7mm tumor on top of my rib adjacent to my sternum.

    Asked by dealite2007 on Monday, October 22, 2012

    I'm wondering-should I get a second opinion at this point in the game. I have IDC with a 7mm tumor on top of my rib adjacent to my sternum.

    I've met with my surgeon ( Dr. L from AAMC/Breast Center in Annpolis, MD) and feel confident with her plan for me. But, I wonder if I should also get a second opionion (I was thinking of Dr. S. at the Greater Baltimore Med. Center/Breast Center) just to make sure. Dr. L is planning a lumpectomy and radiation plus hormone therapy (all of this of course is depending on pathology of lump after excision.) Should I get a second opinion now, or wait until the pathology comes back and treatment plans are being discussed? Does anyone out there know these doctors? Apparently, they are both phenominal around these parts.

    9 Answers from the Community

    9 answers
    • nancyjac's Avatar

      Is you surgeon also an oncologist? If not, I would recommend you see an oncologist for your overall treatment plan and care. I have had breast cancer twice, first time, IDC, second time IBC. In both cases, my primary physician was a medical oncologist who referred and coordinated with a surgeon and radiology oncologist for those parts of the overall treatment plan.

      about 4 years ago
    • SueRae1's Avatar

      I would call to set up a 2nd opinion, and let the office know what the situation is, they can then let you know what the best time for Dr S to see you. I saw my 2nd opinion doctor twice, both before and after my lumpectomy. I also consulted with him after the cancer Metastasized. You can not go wrong having a 2nd pair of eyes on your case, even if they only confirm your treatment plan.

      about 4 years ago
    • Nancebeth's Avatar

      I met with 3 breast surgeons, 2 plastic surgeons and 2 medical oncologists before making my decision to have a bilateral mastectomy with immediate reconstruction. I pretty much always get a second opinion for something serious, and cancer is certainly serious. I feel like the more informed you are, the better choices you can make.

      about 4 years ago
    • nobrand's Avatar

      I think a second opinion never hurts!

      about 4 years ago
    • teddyfuzz's Avatar

      A second opinion isn't going to hurt anything and could give you additional information with which to make an informed decision.

      about 4 years ago
    • karen1956's Avatar

      Peace of mind....if the 2nd opinion offers peace of mind, then go for it.....I got Dx after biopsy....then more bad news after MRI....before I even met with a surgeon, or onc, I new breast was full of cancer and lymph nodes were positive.....I interviewed 2 surgeons....got the same recommendations from both....then saw onc....my onc only treats BC and other diseases of the breast so did not look for another opinion...plus he came highly recommended....I also only interviewed one plastic surgeon....I had ILC with atleast 3 tumors, so lumpectomy was not an option....the only question was single or bilat and both surgeons recommended bilat, which was one of my questions...then chemo, rads, AI's and ooph....I would get the 2nd opinion as it sounds like it would give you peace of mind (only say this cuz you asked the question)....

      about 4 years ago
    • LittleNell's Avatar

      I did not ask for a second opinion until it came to the radiation treatment plan. At that time, it did not make sense to me to have the radiation and the initial doctor was recommending it at MGH in Boston. I went to Dana Farber and talked to a radiologist there. After talking to the Dr. at Dana Farber, I decided against the radiation treatment that the MGH doctor was recommending. It gave me piece of mind that I was doing the right thing for me. If you feel you should get a second opinion, I would do so.

      about 4 years ago
    • Paw's Avatar

      Hello dealite2007. I would recommend a second opinion. Most doctors encourage their patients to get one. Mine did.

      about 4 years ago
    • geekling's Avatar

      I can't imagine how a second opinion could hurt. Just always make sure that opinion number two is not recommended by opinion number one. You want a completely independent opinion number two. As to the timing, you can always come back for more opinions at any time up until you make a decision of how and where to treat. After that, well, you know what they say about changing horses mid-stream. It can be done but the difficulty is extreme.

      Best wishes for recovered good health.

      about 4 years ago

    Help the community by answering this question:

    Create an account to post your answer Already have an account? Sign in!

    By using WhatNext, you agree to our User Agreement, and Privacy Policy

    Read and answer more invasive (infiltrating) ductal carcinoma questions.  Also, don't forget to check out our Invasive (Infiltrating) Ductal Carcinoma page.