• is it too late for a second opinion

    Asked by KC49 on Monday, March 20, 2017

    is it too late for a second opinion

    i have had surgery and chemo/radiation before and chemo after. My tumors are stable so I'm being scanned every 3 months now for a bout a year, Does it seem too late to get a second opinion,( because my tumors are stable) or should I just be glad I am where I am,. And if so how do you go about getting one ?

    12 Answers from the Community

    12 answers
    • GregP_WN's Avatar
      GregP_WN

      What are you hoping to find in a second opinion? At this point the surgery and treatment are done. But you can get a second opinion on your current prognosis. You simply ask your current doctor or oncologist for a referral to someone else. Preferably a doctor not associated with the practice where you are currently being treated. We wish you the best.

      5 months ago
    • LiveWithCancer's Avatar
      LiveWithCancer

      I don't think it is too late to get a second opinion, if what you're wanting to know is whether the "wait and watch" (I think that's what you're doing) is the correct thing to do. I would probably seek out a university hospital or an NCI-designated facility (or both) to find an oncologist for a second opinion. I actually trusted my PCP to decide what oncologists I should use. She picked both of the oncologists I have had and I have loved them both.

      Congratulations on being stable!!! That's great news!!!

      5 months ago
    • geekling's Avatar
      geekling

      It isnt wver too late until they bury you.

      What do you hope to learn?

      5 months ago
    • geekling's Avatar
      geekling

      Pardon but I disagree with GregP_WN.

      A second opinion needs to be completely independent. Asking for a referral is much like asking for a stamp of approval on what has gone before.

      5 months ago
    • BarbarainBham's Avatar
      BarbarainBham

      It's never too late for a second opinion. If your condition is stable, it means you still have cancer and it's not shrinking or growing at this time. If you go to an NIH-associated cancer center, the doctor could know about a new treatment or clinical trial that could shrink your tumor. Here's a link to a list by state or region:
      https://www.cancer.gov/research/nci-role/cancer-centers/find

      If your insurance requires a referral, ask your Primary Care Physician, rather than the Oncologist, and say you want a referral to a doctor at -------institution. If your insurance doesn't require a referral, you don't have to have one. You can call the 800 number listed for the clinic you choose to request an appointment. Then ask what they prefer you do regarding your records. (Some clinics want them faxed ahead for review, and some may want you to bring them.) Then call your oncologist's office to request.

      Best wishes.

      5 months ago
    • BuckeyeShelby's Avatar
      BuckeyeShelby

      The "insurance whisperer" is chiming in: Most policies no longer require a referral, especially if it is a PPO vs an HMO. Check w/your insurance provider to see if it is necessary. Some HMOs especially do still have that requirement. Returning you to your regularly scheduled messages... : )

      5 months ago
    • BoiseB's Avatar
      BoiseB

      It is never too late for another opinion. My insurance company has helped me find second opinions from their provider list.
      Here is an article to get you started.
      http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/cancer/expert-blog/cancer-treatment-second-opinion/bgp-20056385/?utm_source=newsletter&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=living-with-cancer

      5 months ago
    • GregP_WN's Avatar
      GregP_WN

      @geekling, read it again and you will see that I said to get a second, "from a doctor not associated with the practice where you are currently being treated."

      5 months ago
    • barryboomer's Avatar
      barryboomer

      Maybe you can get a second opinion from a Natural Doc to see what they say....

      5 months ago
    • KC49's Avatar
      KC49

      thanks for all your advice, not sure what I am going to do but I will keep all suggestions in mind.

      5 months ago
    • geekling's Avatar
      geekling

      @GregP_WN. We disagree. It doesnt mean anything terrible. Bet we could still have a beer and some laughs and be on good terms, ya know?

      I would not expect a doctor to refer a patient to anyone who he thought might disagree with him. Perhaps you've noticed that on of the lines on many office questionaires is who referred the patient. Personally, I believe there is a defense system between doctors and that too many will simply back each other up despite the consequences to the patient.

      I mentioned a surgeon I had run across who did not understand left and right. Another doctor told me "In all fairness, he was looking at your left and not his left." I did not let the defending surgeon cut me up either.

      Actors neednt have any education but they manage to figure out the difference between stage left and their personal left. Sometimes stupid simply is what it is and defending it is even more stupid.

      For myself, when I want more than one medical opinion, I seek them out completely independently of each other.

      5 months ago
    • BarbarainBham's Avatar
      BarbarainBham

      KC49, i hope you aren't offended, but I read your Profile and saw that you listed you are Stage IV (I am also). Because of that, I want to encourage you to call and go to a NIH-associated cancer center now to see what else is available for you. Clinical trials make available drugs and treatments while they are being researched that haven't yet been approved for the public.

      Since it may take time to get an appointment, it's best to call for an appointment now while you are stable, and find out your options. Then if your health changes, you'll have a plan. Best wishes.

      5 months ago

    Help the community by answering this question:

    Create an account to post your answer Already have an account? Sign in!

    By using WhatNext, you agree to our User Agreement, and Privacy Policy


    Read and answer more adenocarcinoma, colorectal cancer questions.  Also, don't forget to check out our Adenocarcinoma, Colorectal Cancer page.