• Questions for second opinion

    Asked by greensmythe on Monday, November 19, 2012

    Questions for second opinion

    I am doing lots of research, and my initial diagnosis is staqe IV lung cancer, but I have a second opinion set up for this coming Wednesday, November 21- could any of you help me with questions to ask the doctor. My daughter and son are both going with me.

    7 Answers from the Community

    7 answers
    • Harry's Avatar

      I don't think the questions for a second opinion are all that much different than for the first. He'll probably tell you his diagnosis, stage, etc. You'll want to know how he plans to treat you (chemical names, frequency), what he expects for side effects, and how he plans to treat/mitigate them. Ask him what he would consider a successful treatment. Ask how he plans to measure that success while the treatment is underway.

      In a sense, you already got the bad news. I suppose it's theoretically possible that the second opinion could be worse, but it probably will be better. If nothing else, the second opinion doc should have a better range of treatment options.

      Then, whatever he says, enjoy Thanksgiving with your family.

      almost 4 years ago
    • carm's Avatar

      Hi, I'm an oncology nurse so maybe I can help you. When you go for a second opinion, make sure the new doc knows that is what you are seeking, a second opinion. Ask what type of lung cancer it is. Is it small cell, non small cell, BAC? Ask how he would treat you and have him explain the rationale for what he proposes. Ask him how he feels about complementary therapies to enhance the traditional therapies. And finally and most importantly, if he treats you, will it be curative or palliative treatment? I hope this helps you. Best of luck, Carm.

      almost 4 years ago
    • Merri's Avatar

      What are all the available treatments(tx).. Which is the recommended one and why? What are the side effects of each tx. How long can I expect to feel fatigue, nauseous, etc., other side effects. No one experiences cancer or treatment in the same way. Knowledge is key. No question is silly. Good luck.

      almost 4 years ago
    • SueRae1's Avatar

      lot's of great answers. Good luck with the appointment. I have had 2nd opinions through out my journey. The questions I asked were more or less the same that I asked my treating doctor. One question is about the treatment plan - in all cases the 2nd opinion agreed with it, which made me feel better. When my Breast cancer metastasized the 2nd opinion doctor recommend genetic testing and sequencing of the cancers - which my primary oncologist followed up on.

      almost 4 years ago
    • Clyde's Avatar

      Tell him its a second opinion, but I would not tell him anything you have already heard outside of basics (don't volunteer information other than facts). You want his unbiased opinion and telling him what your first Dr. told you in regard to treatment etc, might lead him to the same answer. Once he has told you what he(she) thinks you should do, then discuss the first Dr.s advice to see what he thinks. You want as much unvarnished opinion as possible. He should understand what you are looking for.

      almost 4 years ago
    • Shoeless' Avatar

      All these answers are good ones, and I can't think of anything to add other than to write it down. Write all these suggestions down and take the list with you. And you are definiely on the right track taking a loved one with you. There's so much info that's going to be thrown at you in a short period of time that there's no way one person could absorb it all and remember it. Take notes. Good luck Wednesday. Did you get the fax number for all your doctors and Simon Cancer Center to your PET scan outfit? Unless things have changed, they won't hand the petscan pix to you for you to take to an appointment, but they will fax them anywhere you wish.

      almost 4 years ago
    • mgm48's Avatar

      Remember to ask about quality of life during and post treatment. Ask everything that's ever popped into your head. This is your life and you need all the information you can get. Someone said to write down your questions, I agree but would add that you should leave some room for notes. And everyone should have a copy and a pen. You'll never remember everything.

      Keep it positive and smile :)

      almost 4 years ago

    Help the community by answering this question:

    Create an account to post your answer Already have an account? Sign in!

    By using WhatNext, you agree to our User Agreement, and Privacy Policy

    Read and answer more non-small cell, lung cancer questions.  Also, don't forget to check out our Non-Small Cell, Lung Cancer page.