• Second opinion

    Asked by Lorries on Sunday, May 26, 2013

    Second opinion

    I'd like a second opinion, too much of a delay

    8 Answers from the Community

    8 answers
    • fastdog's Avatar

      Lorries, was there more to this question that I didn't see? Maybe sometimes the entire detailed question doesn't show up?

      over 3 years ago
    • AlizaMLS's Avatar

      Dear Lorries,

      Hi, I'm Aliza, a BC patient and the site's unofficial resident Medical Librarian. Second opinions are always a good idea, but I'm unclear as to what you mean when you say "too much of a delay". Do you mean you're having difficulty in getting an appointment scheduled with another Oncologist for a second opinion or you're having some problem with your treating Oncologist? It's a little unclear. Could you please clarify for those of us in the community so that we can help you with this. I see that you're Stage III, so if you call the Office of another Oncologist and tell the Office Assistant that, they should be making every effort to get you an appointment asap. If not, find another Oncologist!

      If you're having difficulty locating a doctor to see, feel free to message me. As Medical Librarian, I answer questions (usually non medical ones), but I often do research for folks and sometimes help them to locate docs, and hospitals.

      Wishing you the best.


      over 3 years ago
    • karen1956's Avatar

      I only met with one oncologis, but I interviewed 2 breat surgeons.....all 3 were giving me the same recommendations regarding treatment so I didn't see a need to see another onco.....plus my onco specializes in breast cancer...if you are wanting a second opinion, I think its worth the delay....listen to your heart and do what feels right for you...

      over 3 years ago
    • geekling's Avatar

      After the surgeon discovered he was unable to get clear margins, there wasn't much doing for me from conventional western medicine. I went looking down alternative routes.

      In somewhat short order some new drugs were developed which were said to be 95% effective in curing the type of cancer which was my diagnosis. That sounded like good enough odds for me.
      My understanding of cure was a tad immature. Now I knew about new drugs but I had to interview several oncologists before I found one who would use the new drugs (I'd walked away from the odds of their older drugs). I also needed one with a clean office and who could speak with me rather than to me and go to the trouble of using my name when we spoke. I chose the eighth oncologist I interviewed.

      I'm all for second opinions. It took a veritable plethora of docs in a great variety of specialties 13 years to finally diagnose the growth they had been shown and been calling what would turn out to be a squamous cel carcinoma a simple wart when I asked so I've not been one the docs could frighten or rush into some treatment plan. Actually, none of them diagnosed the cancer .. it was a lab from my request to the surgeon to perform a biopsy. It also took a few weeks to set up the exact methodology ... the oncologist was frankly honest with me which is a big plus in spite of him having a radiologist on his team who was a bit of a mad quack.

      Once you make up your mind as to what you will do, I'm sure things will go much more smoothly. Healthy best wishes and hugz

      over 3 years ago
    • JennyMiller's Avatar

      Sometimes, the Medical Field of our World tends to lose us in the shuffle. However, we are more than just a number and we sometimes need to stand up and be our own advocate in demanding the attention and quality care that we deserve. You should definitely get a second opinion and more if you feel the need. Do not give up until you are satisfied. I wish you the best!

      over 3 years ago
    • Clyde's Avatar

      Be aggressive. You are close to Atlanta so there must be plenty of Drs to visit. Call every day looking for cancellations (rare, but possible). Visit offices and see if they can fit you in.

      over 3 years ago
    • Nonnie917's Avatar

      Go for it. There should never be a big delay when it comes to cancer. The longer you wait the more invasive it can become. Get a second opinion immediately. I wouldn't even wait on that doctor to give it to you either. Talk to someone who may have gone through this and find out about their doctor and if he/she is good enough call and get an appointment right away. Tell them you have to be seen ASAP because the other doctor has put you off far too long to be messing around with cancer. Good luck and I hope you find a good doctor that starts right away on your treatment.

      over 3 years ago
    • geekling's Avatar

      When you get a second opinion, BTW, you want an opinion independent of the first one.

      It would be a mistake to ask the first doc to recommend someone to give a second opinion. The odds are too good they will parrot each other.

      I used a reference book I found in a library "Best Doctors of the SE" [volumes also available for NE,SW,NW] to find the doctors to interview. The book is out of Aikens, GA and may be too dated by now but there is doubtless a website called "Best Doctors" which will give or sell you updated information. As I recall, the indexing showed 'oncologists' but I'm not sure if there was further specialization at the time. You can also ask friends or others you know for a recommendation. Everyone knows someone ....

      Best Doctors was started by a man who was told to go home and get his affairs together as his brain cancer would kill him within months. The man and his significant other published the book (they asked doctors "who would you send your wife or brother or child to if they were diagnosed with ....?" and compiled a list) and six years later were interviewed on 60 Minutes or 20/90 or some TV magazine where I got the information.

      As long as there is breath, there is hope.

      over 3 years ago

    Help the community by answering this question:

    Create an account to post your answer Already have an account? Sign in!

    By using WhatNext, you agree to our User Agreement, and Privacy Policy

    Read and answer more breast cancer questions.  Also, don't forget to check out our Breast Cancer page.