• Second opinion...more info

    Asked by Jray on Tuesday, April 2, 2013

    Second opinion...more info

    We both really like and trust his oncologist. She is a great doctor and a very sweet person. That being said, I can't help but think, as aggressive as this cancer seems to be, I would like to see him get the best testing and care possible. He is currently being treated locally. But we live within an hour of the James Cancer hospial in Columbus, Ohio

    9 Answers from the Community

    9 answers
    • carm's Avatar

      As an oncology nurse the best advice I can give you is to get a second opinion. Oncology docs expect their patients will, and many docs assume they are a second opinion. If you like the oncologist you have, then if a second opinion recommends a different course of treatment, take it back to your oncologist and ask her if she would consider trying that recommendation as well. I bet that she will. You are part of the team and she will value whatever input you bring to the table regardless of the source. It is also good to get a second opinion because more than one oncologist will know your case. They can become your plan B. Best of luck to you, Carm RN.

      over 3 years ago
    • Peroll's Avatar

      Jray, You have the right idea in seeking a second opinion from a research ccancer center that will have knowledge of all of the latest treatments and access to trails if necessary. I too have sought second opinions with a Dr my oncologists knows at the local research outfit (Fred Hutichison) and now my oncologist keeps this Dr informed and gets input whent he needs it. Often Dr in smaller towns know a lot about the normal cases but when you get off normal it is a good idea to seek out help and 2nd opinions from people who can bring more to the table. Good Luck

      over 3 years ago
    • kos56's Avatar

      Get a 2nd, a 3rd and even a 4th opinion if need be. This is cancer. Question all the answers. Google all the doctors and read about them on Healthgrades or Vitals. US NEW & Reports publishes annual lists of bests docs in all fields. Google it. Find the best lung oncologists or surgeon within driving distance. We got a 1st opinion from local office of UCLA but the harshness of the chemo put my husband in hospital for 4 days. We got 2nd opinion from USC Norris which was WRONG -- see my post-- so now we are going for 3rd opinion at Cedar Sinai.

      over 3 years ago
    • LuvinSis' Avatar

      I see many ads for local hospitals touting their affiliation with well known cancer centers. While seeking a second opinion, also do some more research about the current oncologist/cancer center looking for information on any affiliations they have. MD Anderson is a major cancer care center out East and they now have a local Phoenix AZ hospital chain here that is formally affiliated with them. So local patients are benefitting from the vast experience and knowledge of MD Anderson.

      over 3 years ago
    • SueRae1's Avatar

      I say go for it. An hour is a relatively short time to spend to give you peace of mind. I know of individuals who need to travel 2+ hours for each treatment as that's the closest treatment center to where they live.

      over 3 years ago
    • BuckeyeShelby's Avatar

      I live in Columbus. My cancer was discovered during a hernia repair at Riverside Hosp. So, of course, I was referred to drs associated w/Riverside, not the James. As I sat in the waiting room of the gynecologic oncologist, I kept thinking I need to be at the James, not here. I need a 2nd opinion. Then I met my surgeon, Dr Bell. The first thing he said to me was "It's nice to meet you; I'm sorry you're here". My need for a 2nd opinion disappeared. HOWEVER... While I'm stage IV, I'm also grade 1, which is a very non-aggressive cancer. If I had some highly aggressive or rare cancer, I think I would have gotten my butt over to the James.

      over 3 years ago
    • Clyde's Avatar

      Since you live so close, you might as well take advantage of the option. I'm three and a half hours from a credible second opinion so consider yourself lucky. But as I said in my other answer to your question, be prepared for it to be the same answer, same treatment plan.

      over 3 years ago
    • Jray's Avatar

      Thank you all for responding...at the very least I'm gonna ask his oncologist about whatever resources the James center can offer in his care and further testing :)

      over 3 years ago
    • greensmythe's Avatar

      No one can ever fault you for reaching out for a second or even a third opinion. Most doctors expect this in a serious situation such as yours. I was given my initial diagnosis and was very unhappy with the doctor. I came to to this board and was advised to get a second opinion at a teaching hospital which is what I did. Let me just say that one of the wonderful people who helped me told me that the hardest thing I would find in this journey was finding health professionals I could trust. I have found this to be true. It sounds like you trust this doctor you already have, but it also appears that she would be the kind that would welcome more input as well. Get your second opinion. And God speed!

      over 3 years ago

    Help the community by answering this question:

    Create an account to post your answer Already have an account? Sign in!

    By using WhatNext, you agree to our User Agreement, and Privacy Policy

    Read and answer more lung cancer questions.  Also, don't forget to check out our Lung Cancer page.