• Should I get a second opinion or ask for additional tests?

    Asked by Cheryl2 on Sunday, July 15, 2012

    Should I get a second opinion or ask for additional tests?

    7 Answers from the Community

    7 answers
    • nancyjac's Avatar
      nancyjac

      For what? What tests have you had? What are you looking for a second opinion about?

      almost 5 years ago
    • Cheryl2's Avatar
      Cheryl2

      I had a biopsy, nothing else. Diagnosis was stage 1. DH is concerned about testing errors, I think. Haven't had an appointment with the surgeon yet, so I'm thinking of questions to ask.

      almost 5 years ago
    • nancyjac's Avatar
      nancyjac

      I would ask for a referral from your PCP or GYN to a medical oncologist. That would person to evaluate whether additional tests should be performed and whether or not surgery should be the primary or first treatment.

      If you know the stage of your cancer, additional testing would have been done since a biopsy does not determine the stage of cancer. Stage 1 indicates the cancer is confined to the uterus and has not spread to the cervix, pelvis, lymph nodes, bladder, rectum, etc. A uterine sampling (i. e. biopsy) could not have determined the absence of cancer in any location other than that area of tissue in the uterus. Determine the extent of cancer is typically done with a CT, MRI, or PET scan or some combination of those.

      almost 5 years ago
    • carm's Avatar
      carm

      Cheryl, I think you should ask for a recommendation to an gyne onc and confirm with a PET scan. Although a CT and MRI will let you know there is something present, only a PET can tell you if it is a malignancy. The only purpose of a PET is to find cancerous cells.

      almost 5 years ago
    • Cheryl2's Avatar
      Cheryl2

      I am waiting for a call to schedule an appointment with the specialist. Not sure if it is a gynecological oncologist. I was so upset when the doctor called that I did not ask enough questions.

      almost 5 years ago
    • nancyjac's Avatar
      nancyjac

      Actually carm, that is not true. A PET scan identifies any high metabolic activity which can result from any number of things including any infection, inflammation, etc. Malignancy is only one of many things that results in high metabolic activity or "hot spots" that show up on a PET. PET scans are used for many purposes including heart and brain function mapping, in treating neurological diseases such as Alzheimer's and schizophrenia, as well as musculo-skeletal conditions.

      In cancer diagnosis, a PET is normally used to identify hot spots that MIGHT be metastasis cancer in areas close to or a likely remote metastatic site for an already diagnosed primary site cancer. A CT scan can identify and measure the mass of a tumor. An MRI provides a 3D image and better contrast of both tumors and surrounding soft tissue that is often used by surgeons to map the field for surgical excision or other treatment.

      almost 5 years ago
    • shlynn59's Avatar
      shlynn59

      Cheryl, when I had my biopsy I was told grade 1 maybe that was your DR. said. My Gyn had tests scheduled for me a CT scan and vaginal ultrasounds, and more blood tests. I was then sent to ONI-GYNI. Had my surgery all within a month. The only real advice I would give is to take someone with you to help with questions and the answers . Good Luck.

      almost 5 years ago

    Help the community by answering this question:

    Create an account to post your answer Already have an account? Sign in!

    By using WhatNext, you agree to our User Agreement, and Privacy Policy


    Read and answer more endometrial (uterine) cancer questions.  Also, don't forget to check out our Endometrial (Uterine) Cancer page.