• Technical Site Questions

    Asked by nancyjac on Saturday, August 25, 2012

    Technical Site Questions

    Maybe I am having another chemo brain moment. A couple of times now I have tried to update my profile. The first time to specify Inflammatory Breast Cancer as a sub diagnosis to Breast Cancer, and just a few minutes ago to change my role from Patient to Survivor. Both times instead of updating my existing profile, it added the info as a second and third diagnosis.

    What am I doing wrong? At this point is there anyway to combine these so that my "experiences" are all under one diagnosis instead of 3? My current role/diagnosis that I am trying to get everything under is Survivor, Inflammatory Breast Cancer.

    8 Answers from the Community

    8 answers
    • FreeBird's Avatar
      FreeBird

      I didn't see a way to combine or merge diagnoses. The only way I'm aware to edit a diagnosis is to go to your home page, select the diagnosis you want to edit from the dropdown menu, click Add Experience, click Edit Diagnosis Profile. That worked for me. But it flipped the last-edited diagnosis to the first one that showed up on the home page.

      over 4 years ago
    • nancyjac's Avatar
      nancyjac

      Hi Dave,

      I followed your instructions but all it did was change the 3rd diagnosis from Patient to Survivor and changed the Second Diagnosis from Survivor to Patient. It still shows 3 different diagnoses. I'm wanting to clean that up by combining all of the experiences into one diagnosis that reads "Survivor: Inflammatory Breast Cancer, 15 experiences. The way it read now (see below ) on first glance makes it appear as though I have 3 different cancers/diagnoses when actually it is just one.

      nancyjac 1,846 Goodwill
      Pflugerville, TX
      Patient: Breast Cancer - 13 Experiences
      Patient: Inflammatory Breast Cancer - 2 Experiences
      Survivor: Breast Cancer - 0 Experiences

      over 4 years ago
    • FreeBird's Avatar
      FreeBird

      I would:
      A. Delete the one with zero experiences, by going to your home page, selecting Survivor:Breast Cancer from the dropdown menu and waiting until it changes to that, click "add experience," then "delete diagnosis profile."
      B. Edit the diagnosis you want to keep, by going to your home page, selecting that one from the dropdown menu, click "add experience," (not add diagnosis), click "edit diagnosis profile," change the role and specific diagnosis, and save.
      C. Delete the remaining diagnosis with 2 experiences, and just add those manually to the last remaining diagnosis.

      over 4 years ago
    • nancyjac's Avatar
      nancyjac

      Hi FreeBird,

      I went to follow your steps, but had to abort at step A. When I clicked on delete diagnosis profile, I got this pop up box:

      Are you sure you want to delete your Breast Cancer diagnosis? This will remove all the posts you made related to this diagnosis including any journey entries and questions you posted. This can not be undone.

      So if I delete that profile, it would delete my posts in this thread and who knows how many others. I see to be stuck with the mess.

      over 4 years ago
    • FreeBird's Avatar
      FreeBird

      When I first started with the website, I kept adding new diagnoses, not knowing what I was doing. I deleted them without deleting the rest of the entries. Maybe Dave can tell you if it's safe to do without deleting posts made under your other diagnoses.

      over 4 years ago
    • KarenG_WN's Avatar
      KarenG_WN

      It seems to be you want your original journey (the one with multiple experiences) but you just want to switch your role from Patient to Survivor. Is that right? If so, you can delete the duplicate diagnoses by clicking on the "Add Experience" link to the right of your picture. This will take you to a page where you can edit your journey. Below the journey icons you will see two links: "Edit Diagnosis Profile" and "Delete Diagnosis Profile". VERY IMPORTANT. Make sure the diagnosis you want to delete is being displayed above and then click the "Delete Diagnosis Profile". This should take care of it.

      Does this help?

      over 4 years ago
    • nancyjac's Avatar
      nancyjac

      Karen,

      Yes that is what I want to to, but when I go to delete other two profiles, I get a pop up box warning me that deleting that profile will also delete all posts I made using that profile. I have no idea which or how many questions and answers I posted under which of those 3 profiles, but I don't want to delete any of those posts.

      over 4 years ago
    • KarenG_WN's Avatar
      KarenG_WN

      Ah, I see what you are saying now. Ok, I will investigate.

      over 4 years ago

    Help the community by answering this question:

    Create an account to post your answer Already have an account? Sign in!

    By using WhatNext, you agree to our User Agreement, and Privacy Policy


    Read and answer more inflammatory breast cancer questions.  Also, don't forget to check out our Inflammatory Breast Cancer page.