• Update on second opinion

    Asked by Steph921 on Wednesday, May 22, 2013

    Update on second opinion

    Hi everyone, A couple of months ago I posted a question about what would cause a PET scan to "light up". My onc had said it was a recurrence and I would need chemo for the rest of my life but he also encouraged me to go to MD Anderson for a second opinion. They ordered a biopsy, a really scary one because the lymph node was in my chest near my heart and lungs. Boy am I glad I went there and took the advice! When they did the scan and biopsy they didn't even see the "thing" as I call it and had to use the old scan to even find it! When they did find it and do the biopsy it came back negative!!! Whoo Hooo!! Anyway, the 3 trips to Houston (6 hour drive each way) was well worth it! MDACC is an amazing place and I would reccomend them to anyone!! Thanks to everyone here on this site who encouraged me to go there!! Thanks to my onc for suggesting it!! Thanks to Aetna for covering it! Thank God for putting all these things together and making me strong enough and determined enough to go!!

    27 Answers from the Community

    27 answers
    • carm's Avatar

      Congrats to you, that is wonderful news. Champaign on the house for everyone!! Carm RN.

      over 3 years ago
    • ticklingcancer's Avatar

      Congrats!!! That's Awesome News!!!

      over 3 years ago
    • SueRae1's Avatar

      Doing a happy dance for you

      over 3 years ago
    • BuckeyeShelby's Avatar

      Thanks for sharing such great news. And may any other scary moments you have, have such a wonderful outcome.

      over 3 years ago
    • karen1956's Avatar


      over 3 years ago
    • barbaraanne's Avatar

      Yeah that's great news...very happy for you:) I have 2 more weeks on my radiation, and if they tell me I need chemo again (I had a recurrence (during treatment) to 1 lymph node, i will also get a 2nd opinion. Nothing but good wishes & prayers for your good health. Be well..

      over 3 years ago
    • GregP_WN's Avatar

      Excellent news!! This is the kind of thing we all live for. Thanks for posting, these types of reports are what give others hope that they too, can get this kind of news. I know you are planning a celebratory weekend.

      over 3 years ago
    • Clyde's Avatar

      Wonderful. I am so happy for you.

      over 3 years ago
    • FreeBird's Avatar


      over 3 years ago
    • Gabba's Avatar

      Awesome news...so happy for you!

      over 3 years ago
    • Lirasgirl33's Avatar

      Awesome news!! :)

      over 3 years ago
    • Peroll's Avatar

      Congratulations. A little knowledge goes a long way!!!

      over 3 years ago
    • gwendolyn's Avatar

      Thanks for posting the good news!

      over 3 years ago
    • Cindy's Avatar


      over 3 years ago
    • SandiD's Avatar

      over 3 years ago
    • SandiD's Avatar

      I do not know why my last post was blank! But WHOO HOO FOR YOU! How nice to read HAPPY NEWS!

      over 3 years ago
    • JennyMiller's Avatar

      Great News --- thank you so much for sharing!!

      over 3 years ago
    • DianaL's Avatar

      Wonderful news! Congratulations!!!

      over 3 years ago
    • Nonnie917's Avatar

      I am so happy for you. Good thing you took their advice. I hope they were able to remove it and if not I pray it doesn't get any worse for you. Good job and taking everybody's advice. Good thing to do when you have been dealing with cancer.

      over 3 years ago
    • MillieS's Avatar

      Awesome news. God bless..

      over 3 years ago
    • jad's Avatar

      Great hearing something good!

      over 3 years ago
    • lindagrooms' Avatar

      Great news!!!!! So happy for you.

      over 3 years ago
    • Ladykarla's Avatar

      Awesome! You go girl!!!!

      over 3 years ago
    • leslie48240's Avatar

      That's what we all want to hear!!! Believe me when I say we all share in your joy!

      over 3 years ago
    • Bug's Avatar

      Yeah! Congratulations, Steph921! That is great news! Good for you! : )

      over 3 years ago
    • Topazcat's Avatar

      So glad things turned out well for you! Great news!!

      over 3 years ago
    • jvbaseballmom2's Avatar

      Congratulations on the great news!

      over 3 years ago

    Help the community by answering this question:

    Create an account to post your answer Already have an account? Sign in!

    By using WhatNext, you agree to our User Agreement, and Privacy Policy

    Read and answer more breast cancer questions.  Also, don't forget to check out our Breast Cancer page.