• What is everyone's opinion of using medical marijuana with cancer?

    Asked by 4HeartsBroken on Thursday, November 29, 2012

    What is everyone's opinion of using medical marijuana with cancer?

    18 Answers from the Community

    18 answers
    • SueRae1's Avatar

      I say if it works - go for it. It can be a lot cheaper then some of the medications they prescribe for pain and nausea.

      almost 4 years ago
    • Nancebeth's Avatar


      almost 4 years ago
    • Jennew's Avatar

      I agree so much, it is natural and can be controlled it should be legal. I'm in!

      almost 4 years ago
    • nancyjac's Avatar

      For what purpose? I had no nausea with chemo with the drugs I was prescribed. I had no pain. I did have, and still do have some cognitive problems (chemo brain) and the last thing I need is more brain fuzz from getting high.

      I was a hippie in the '60s and smoked my share of weed recreationally, but I just don't see it as being as effective for controlling nausea or pain as pharmaceuticals.

      almost 4 years ago
    • Onoi11's Avatar

      I think it's an option worth exploring for some patients especially if it reduces the need for pain meds which can cause constipation.

      almost 4 years ago
    • polgara's Avatar

      My friends kept telling me that they "knew" someone if I wanted to try it. I also found out they make a pill form so you get the benefits w/o feeling stoned. I have never done any drugs and are still uptight and leary but I didn't have a huge problem with side effects. Also, I felt like I coudln't build up the courage to ask my onc. I did consider it just to relax since early on in my diagnosis I was completely wound and freaking out.

      almost 4 years ago
    • FreeBird's Avatar

      I'm against medical marijuana for sale only, unless someone is going to pay for it for you. I think people should be able to grow it freely to use as needed, and study it. There are better ways to address any negative aspects within the law. For whatever reason, there's a huge stigma and irrational phyto-prejudice surrounding cannabis. It's a strange thing considering people smoke tobacco, drink alcohol, stick their heads into paper sacks with paint fumes... and you can go out into your yard and eat plants that could kill you. You can buy enough synthetic over-the-counter drugs to destroy your liver. At some point, you have to stop trying to ban everything, and encourage responsibility between the ears.

      It's an odd and funny thing to me that mother nature puts a helpful natural biodegradable plant here, and human beings attempt to ban it out of existence. Then they make it okay as long as they can wrap it in plastic and sell it to you. There are many ways the plant can be used responsibly.

      My dad is using another plant-- opium poppies, morphine, for pain. That's controlled also-- so much so that I have a difficult time finding it when I go to renew the prescription. I'm in favor of whatever works. If it helps ease suffering, increases appetite, decreases nausea, or helps someone manage their pain, I don't know how someone could say no and live with themselves. I have never used it, and wouldn't smoke it because of what smoke does to your lungs. I do not, however, believe it is a cure-all for cancer, just because I cannot find any evidence to support that, outside of youtube videos and websites that support marijuana. It's unethical to promote it as a cure without scientific studies to demonstrate that. It gives people false hope, and sends people on a wild goose chase for information during the hardest time in their life. I agree with what the National Cancer Institute says, "It is important that the same scientific evaluation that is used to assess conventional approaches be used to evaluate CAM (complimentary and alternative medicine) therapies" If it works to help someone get through the day, can someone please answer the question, "why not?" I'm for whatever works for people.


      almost 4 years ago
    • karen1956's Avatar

      it works for nausea and for appetite....but my onc didn't want me smoking it, so he Rx, marinol...but today there are many edible forms of marijuana....do what is best for you as you go through Tx....

      almost 4 years ago
    • cris' Avatar

      Nothing worked for my nausea, so my docter perscribed Marinol which helped with my nausea & eating.

      almost 4 years ago
    • tomget's Avatar

      I don't think it would hurt to try..unless your doctor has a specific medical reason why it would hurt you in particular.

      almost 4 years ago
    • nobrand's Avatar

      It helps me. Don't smoke it, you can vaporize or use edibles. Sadly though, it is a very expensive medicine and you will not have any help from your insurance company or any of the cancer assistance organizations. They prefer paying for opium ;)

      almost 4 years ago
    • Russ' Avatar

      I am totally against any illegal drug, and even if it is sold for medicinal purposes only. I was born in 1944 an grew up in the late 50s and 60s when marijuana was used regulary by many people that I knew. I never tried the drug even though it was used by many in our circle. Does it work? I guess for some it is a high, and eases the pain and ausea. I had pancreatic cancer and vomited every day! I was given Kytril, Atavan, Compazine, etc...and nothing worked. Finally they gave me marinol, the closest you can get to marijuana and still be legal...even that didn't work for me. I suffered through the pain and nausea on my own. Well that is not quite true I did take oxycodone...a legal narcatic. That too can become addictive as does marijuana. Both can lead to other drugs which are extremely addictive. To each his own...but it is not for me. If the government makes it legal then both parties make out monetarily, and for comfort. I just think we are opening padora's box. Trouble will lie ahead. It is like these energy drinks, I said to friends of mine that we have yet to realize the affects that these drinks are having on oue youth. These kids are drinking energy drinks...and I ask them why? You don't need energy t your age! They dsay it tastes good, and it doeslift them up. Well I have read on 2 different occasions where 13 people off died. The things that we are marketing for our youth,and now marijuana...not a good thing...be careful.

      almost 4 years ago
    • mtolady's Avatar

      Fire it up......

      almost 4 years ago
    • Kitsaplakegirl's Avatar

      YES YES YES! If your oncologist doesn't like you "smoking" it,try using with a vaporisor (SP?)Heats buds up but doesn't burn it uo,thus reducing harmfull carcinogens,don't know all specs-but it's way less harmfull than regular bong and doobie smoke. I smoked during my anal cancer winter of chemo and radiation,I would put my food on the table before I indulged because my window of opportunity was 10-20minutes,then I would be too relaxed to deal with food.It worked better than highpriced food stimulates. dw

      almost 4 years ago
    • 4HeartsBroken's Avatar

      I have no need for anymore answers to this question sadly my Grandma has passed away from Pancreatic Cancer Tuesday evening.

      almost 4 years ago
    • CayenneJan's Avatar

      My opinion only. I have been using Medical MJ for 3 yrs. due to a neurological disorder that only MJ helps. Then I started having more pain and nausea so I have been using it more often now. So glad to live in CA.

      almost 4 years ago
    • CayenneJan's Avatar

      My opinion only. I have been using Medical MJ for 3 yrs. due to a neurological disorder that only MJ helps. Then I started having more pain and nausea so I have been using it more often now. So glad to live in CA.

      almost 4 years ago
    • Carol1211's Avatar

      I say YES! I have been lucky enough to have a little of it, not legally. It does really help with no appetite & relaxes my body more than any meds can.

      about 2 years ago

    Help the community by answering this question:

    Create an account to post your answer Already have an account? Sign in!

    By using WhatNext, you agree to our User Agreement, and Privacy Policy

    Read and answer more pancreatic cancer questions.  Also, don't forget to check out our Pancreatic Cancer page.